Thursday Three: Coconut Oil

I’ve recently jumped on the coconut oil bandwagon. I use it for almost anything from body moisturizer to teeth whitener! I absolutely love it!

Today I’m sharing three of my most recent uses for coconut oil!!

Sunburn
I wish I could say the sunburn I had a couple days ago was from laying at the beach too long but I’d be lying! These last few weeks I’ve been spending my Fridays at Dezy’s (my boyfriend’s MANfriend’s daughter) summer track meets. My definite go-to sunburn remedy is coconut oil. I just lathered it on the burned areas and immediately my skin felt cool. The itching and burning was gone. I kept on applying it for about a day. Redness was still there but the burning was gone. Within two days, my sunburn turned into a tan! What a relief!

Hair Treatment
In my About page I mentioned my recent move to a small town in the middle of nowhere. I still haven’t really met many people and I don’t have any clue of where to get my hair styled at. The hair salon I’ve been going to is now almost 2 hrs away. The next big city close by is about 50 min away. Yikes! What do I do if I need a quick wake up for my hair? I use coconut oil as a hair treatment! It works wonders! So what I do is heat up a couple tablespoons of coconut oil in the microwave. Once that’s done I stir it around to heat evenly. Flip my head over and start lathering it into my hair. Sometimes I use a comb to make sure I spread it all completely. Then I twist my hair up in a bun and clip it. Once clipped in place I put a shower cap over my hair and leave it in for about 30 min. Afterwards, I wash my hair twice to make sure I get all the coconut oil out. Ta-da! That’s my easy peasy coconut oil hair mask!

Eye make up removal
I recently ran out of my usual eye make up remover and I hate using water and soap for that. I remembered a friend mentioned once about using coconut oil for that. So I tried it out. I got a small amount of coconut oil on my fingers. I gently rubbed it in circles on my eyes. I did it for a while until I felt the make up was ready to come off. I wiped it off with a cotton pad. The plus to this was my eyes and lashes were moisturized!!

Share what you use coconut oil for below!

Leave a Reply

